Our Advisory Board

MiSoC’s Advisory Board is made up of academics, policy makers, journalists, employees of think-tanks and research foundations, and representatives from the private sector. Its general role is to act as a critical friend, advise on MiSoC’s overall shape, academic direction and relevance to policy and practice. It is currently chaired by Professor Simon Burgess.

Members of the Advisory Board for 2019-2024 are listed below:

  • Professor Simon Burgess (Chair), Professor of Economics, University of Bristol
  • Professor Sara Arber (to 2020), Emeritus Professor of Sociology, University of Surrey
  • Professor Ann Berrington, Joint Head of Social Statistics and Demography, Professor of Demography and Social Statistics, University of Southampton
  • Aleks Collingwood, Analysis Manager, Evidence and Impact, Joseph Rowntree Foundation
  • Richard Cox, UKRI ESRC MiSoC Case Officer (Observer)
  • Karen Hurrell (to 2023), Statistician, Equalities and Human Rights Commission
  • Sonya Krutikova, Associate Director, Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS)
  • Ashwin Kumar, Professor of Social Policy, Policy Evaluation Research Unit, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Professor Lindsey Macmillan, Professor of Economics, Director, Centre for Education Policy & Equalising Opportunities (CEPEO), UCL
  • Charles McAlindin, (from 2023) Senior Research Associate, Equalities and Human Rights Commission
  • Clare McNeil, Associate Fellow, Institute for Public Policy Research (IPPR)
  • Christiaan Monden, Head of Department, Professor of Sociology and Demography, Nuffield College, University of Oxford
  • Dr. Berkay Ozcan, Associate Professor, Department of Social Policy and the School of Public Policy, London School of Economics (LSE)
  • Osama Rahman, Chief Analyst, Chief Scientific Adviser, and Director – Analysis Directorate, Department for Education
  • Professor Chris Greer, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research), University of Essex (Papers only)
  • Professor Patrick Sturgis, Professor of Quantitative Social Science, LSE
  • Gemma Tetlow (to 2023), Chief Economist, Institute for Government
  • Professor Morag Treanor, Professor of Social Policy and Inequality, School of Social & Political Sciences, University of Glasgow
  • Frank Windemeijer, Professorial Research Fellow, Department of Statistics, University of Oxford